About This Project

The Hidden Resonances of Moving Bodies is a research about the common principles that underlie the creation of music and dance, emphasizing the important role of experience and bodily consciousness both in instrumental performance and in the field of the arts of movement.

The result of this research and its creative process is a trans-disciplinary work for big skilled dancers and classic-contemporary percussionists, which explores the choreographic foundations of instrumental musical practice. The piece is a collaboration between the company Instituto Stocos (Muriel Romero and Pablo Palacio) and the internationally renowned group of percussionists Neopercusión.

The creation of the work is based on a creative process that fuse choreographic processes with musical composition, understanding the functional movement of the percussionist as a sophisticated choreography that is revealed through the resulting musical forms.

At the same time, as a fundamental part of the process of creation of the work, a specific real time movement analysis technology is being developed in order to to transform the body movement of the dancers into sound, thus allowing to generate music in real time from the movement, and in this case overcoming the physical limitations to which would be forced the body of a percussionist.

These virtual non-tactile instruments allow the dancers to dialogue with the percussionists in the sound field, and to the musicians they offer them the opportunity to explore new expressive qualities of body movement connected to the creation of musical structures.

CONCEPTION AND IDEA: Pablo Palacio.                                                                                                             CHOREOGRAPHY: Muriel Romero.
MUSIC: Pablo Palacio.
PEFORMANCE: Muriel Romero, Alicia Narejos, Arnau Pérez, Juanjo Guillem, Rafa Gálvez.
TECHNOLOGY: Pablo Palacio and Daniel Bisig.
LIGHTING: Miguel Angel Camacho..
PRODUCTION: Instituto Stocos.
SUPPORTS: Teatros del Canal, Comunidad de Madrid, EU-H2020, INAEM,  Infomus-Casa Paganini- Universitá de Genova (Italia) and
Institute for Computer Music and Sound Technology of Zurich (Suiza).